Species Matrix

The Western Bat Species Regional Priority Matrix is a product of the Western Bat Working Group Workshop held in Reno, Nevada, February 9-13, 1998. The matrix is intended to provide states, provinces, federal land management agencies, interested organizations and individuals a better understanding of the overall status of a given bat species throughout its western North American range. Subsequently, the importance of a single region or multiple regions to the viability and conservation of each species becomes more apparent. The matrix should also provide a means to prioritize and focus population monitoring, research, conservation actions, and the efficient use of limited funding and resources currently devoted to bats.

Red or ‘high’ designation represents those species considered the highest priority for funding, planning, and conservation actions. Information about status and threats to most species could result in effective conservation actions being implemented should a commitment to management exist. These species are imperiled or are at high risk of imperilment.
Yellow or ‘medium’ designation indicates a level of concern that should warrant closer evaluation, more research, and conservation actions of both the species and possible threats. A lack of meaningful information is a major obstacle in adequately assessing these species’ status and should be considered a threat.
Green or ‘low’ designation indicates that most of the existing data support stable populations of the species, and that the potential for major changes in status in the near future is considered unlikely. While there may be localized concerns, the overall status of the species is believed to be secure. Conservation actions would still apply for these bats, but limited resources are best used on red and yellow species.
Blue or ‘periphery’ designation indicates a species on the edge of its range. This designation reflects neither high, medium, nor low concern.

Multiple Habitat Species

   Region 1 Region 2 Regions 3, 4, 9, 10  Region 5  Region 6 Regions 7, 8 
Antrozous pallidus, pallid bat  •   •  •  •  • 
 Eptesicus fuscus, big brown bat
 Idionycteris phyllotis, Allen’s big-eared bat –  –     
 Myotis auriculus, southwestern myotis –  –  –  –   
 Myotis californicus, California myotis
 Myotis ciliolabrum, western small-footed myotis        
 Myotis evotis, long-eared myotis
 Myotis keenii, Keen’s myotis –  –  – 
 Myotis lucifugus, little brown myotis
Myotis occultus, Arizona myotis –  –   
Myotis septentrionalis, northern myotis
Myotis thysanodes, fringed myotis    
Myotis volans, long-legged myotis
Myotis yumanensis, Yuma myotis
Tadarida brasiliensis, Mexican free-tailed bat

Tree Roosting Species

   Region 1 Region 2 Regions 3, 4, 9, 10  Region 5  Region 6 Regions 7, 8 
Lasiurus blossevillii, western red bat  •     
Lasiurus borealis, eastern red bat
 Lasiurus cinereus, hoary bat •  • 
 Lasiurus xanthinus, western yellow bat –  –  –  •   
 Lasionycteris noctivagans, silver-haired bat

Cliff Roosting Species

   Region 1 Region 2 Regions 3, 4, 9, 10  Region 5  Region 6 Regions 7, 8 
Euderma maculatum, spotted bat       •     
 Eumops perotis, western mastiff bat
Eumops underwoodi, Underwood’s mastiff bat –  –   
 Nyctinomops femorosaccus, pocketed free-tailed bat –  –  –   
 Nyctinomops macrotis, big free-tailed bat
 Parastrellus hesperus, western pipistrelle   •    • 

Cave Roosting Species

   Region 1 Region 2 Regions 3, 4, 9, 10  Region 5  Region 6 Regions 7, 8 
Choeronycteris mexicana, Mexican long-tongued bat    • 
 Corynorhinus townsendii, Townsend’s big-eared bat
 Leptonycteris curasoae, lesser long-nosed bat –  –   
 Leptonycteris nivalis, Mexican long-nosed bat –  –  –  –   
 Macrotus californicus, California leaf-nosed bat
 Mormoops megalophylla, ghost-faced bat  
 Myotis velifer, cave myotis

Map of Ecoregions

1 Marine Regime Mountains

2 Intermountain Semi-Desert Province

3 Temperate Steppe Regime Mountains

4 Temperate Desert Regime Mountains

5 Mediterranean Division

6 Intermountain Semi-Desert and Desert Province

7 Colorado Plateau Semi-Desert / Arizona – New Mexico Mountains and Semi-Desert

8 Tropical / Subtropical Desert Division

9 Temperate Steppe Division

10 Tropical / Subtropical Steppe Division

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work! Please upgrade today!